The Best Chef’s Knife For Most Cooks

After 75 hours of research, said the four experts, and tested chef’s knife 13 in the kitchen of our own, we think the MAC Knife MTH-80 8-inch Chef with Dimples ($ 145) is the best for most home cooks. Japanese knives do this seal is, hands down, the sharpest models, most durable and most comfortable that we’ve tested. Razor sharp of diced onions, carrots turn into the large number of French classical cuts, and cutting through difficult butternut squash better than any other knife, we tried. It even cut through the delicate basil without causing the edges to brown-something none of the knives Germany can equal. Its durable high carbon blades will stay sharper than most other blades that we found in this price range. At $145, it’s not cheap. But we think that the combination of performance, durability, and comfort make it an investment that can last a lifetime. From that perspective, it’s a bargain.

Last Updated: June 8, 2016

We’ve reviewed this article and put another hour of research into making sure our picks were still the best for most people. They are.

Expand Most Recent Updates

May 26, 2016: We’ve honed (get it?) our stance on knife sharpeners. While we still recommend that you use a whetstone on your highest-quality knives, as we do ourselves, we’ve found that a good knife sharpener works like a dream on less-expensive knives while being dead simple and mess-free.
June 5, 2015: After 75 hours of research, the MAC MTH-80 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples is our new pick for best chef’s knife. It’s the sharpest, most durable, and comfortable model we tested. Our runner-up is the Tojiro DP, which is extremely sharp and easy to maintain, but doesn’t have much knuckle clearance. We also have picks for more heavy-duty tasks or if you want to spend a little less.
April 30, 2015: Our previous step-up choice has snagged the top pick spot. The MAC MTH-80 out-chopped the competition to become our new main pick. If $145 is more than you want to spend on a knife, the Tojiro DP ($57) is a cheaper and lighter-weight alternative. It was knocked down to second place because cutting hard butternut squash put a tiny knick in the blade that was barely noticeable, and those with larger hands might find it doesn’t have much knuckle clearance. For those who can’t shake their love of German drop forged knives, we liked the Wüsthof Ikon($141). It’s heavy enough to break lobsters, and offers stainless durability for those who tend to be rough on knives. For the novice cook, or the graduate moving into their first apartment, the Wüsthof Pro ($25) is our budget pick. A sharp blade and big cushy handle made this a favorite budget knife with our testers. We’ll be updating the guide with all of our new research and testing within the next two weeks.
December 15, 2014: Clarified statements about putting knives in the dishwasher.
October 24, 2014: America’s Test Kitchen pulled out the big guns and put our Victorinox pick under an electron microscope, along with a much more expensive carbon steel knife from Henckels to check out the steel’s grain. The Henckels has a very tight grain, which is what makes it such a sharp, durable knife that stays sharper longer. Their microscope test also revealed that the Victorinox’s steel was nearly as tight. They concluded with this endorsement for our pick: “When the results are that close, the bottom line for us, has to be practical. We’re still gonna use our Victorinox Stainless Knife. It’s low maintenance, it’s cheap, and it’s the best tool in our kitchen.”
September 17, 2013: We put four hours of research into making sure our picks were still the best for most people. They are.
November 1, 2012: Added some lines in the competition section to address this recent roundup review by Wired. Also better delineated the differences between forged and stamped knives and added the Wüsthof Classic 8 inch Cook’s knife as a recommendation for a German forged knife.

Our Pick

MAC MTH-80 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples

With its super sharp edge, sleek tapered shape, and comfortable handle, this knife will make your everyday dicing and slicing tasks smoother and quicker. Its high-carbon blade will also stay sharp

longer than blades made from softer stainless steel.

capture

MAC MTH-80 8-inch Chef's Knife with Dimples
MAC MTH-80 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples

When we reviewed the original knife in 2012, we did not include practice tests. For this update, we want to see a series of trials of different skill levels preferred. Selection of a chef’s knife has a lot to do with personal preference. Ideally, you want to try some knives to see how they feel in your hand. But after more than 15 hours of testing with staff writers and editors Sweethome’s office in New York City with our in-depth interviews with experts knives, we are confident that the MAC MTH-80 is one of the most attractive knife is universal and will work closely to make the most of a lot easier.

The runner-up

Tojiro DP

This Western-style Japanese knife has a slightly less durable blade than our top pick, and the handle doesn’t provide as much knuckle clearance for bigger hands. But it’s extremely sharp, relatively easy to maintain, and more reasonably priced.
capture
If our main options sold, we get the Tojiro DP ($ 60). Similar plates its extremely sharp to the MAC in the shape and composition of steel, is relatively easy to maintain and balance a knife is better than many models we tried. It also comes with one of the best rates we’ve found a Japanese Western-style knife. But the experiment with larger hands found there was not enough communication between the handle of Tojiro knuckle and cutting board. Its tongue is less durable than the MAC; edge can develop a small nick from butternut squash cut hard vegetables or raw sugar beets. Although we think Tojiro is a big knife, it needs a little more maintenance than MTH-80 MAC.

For heavier tasks

Wüsthof Ikon

This German drop-forged knife’s stainless steel blade will dull faster than our main pick’s, but its heft makes it better for tackling heavy-duty tasks such as splitting a chicken breast.

capture

German drop-forged knife’s stainless steel blade
German drop-forged knife’s stainless steel blade

If you are familiar with the feeling of a heavy knife Germany, Wusthof Classic Ikon Knife 8-Inch Cook ($ 145) is sharp, strong, and consistent with our criteria for a good knife. Compared with other forged German knives in our prototype, thin blade of Ikon make smooth cuts through butternut squash and carrots. It is also more agile in butternut squash skinned from a thin due to its tongue. Wusthof Classic Ikon The blades are made of mild steel than the MAC MTH-80, which means it will fade faster. It is also heavier than the MAC MTH-80, weighs 9 ounces-2.5 ounces more than the MAC.

For those on a budget

Wüsthof Pro

This stamped knife is great for first apartments, car-camping cooking kits, or times when you need to share a knife. Its slicing action isn’t the smoothest, and the handle may be too big for some, but it’s by far the best knife we’ve found for less than $40.

capture

Wüsthof Pro stamped knife
Wüsthof Pro stamped knife

If you are simply looking for something cheap, reliable, and sharpness crazy, we want the Pro Wusthof ($ 25). Like choosing our top runner, it has a stamped blade, but the action is not as smooth cut. It has a large handle that’s best smoothness for large hands, but also quite comfortable for small hands. The position of the handle can make it difficult to get a handful of bird on the blade, forcing you to adjust your grip on the handle completely. Overall, although it is well-known, beloved by testing in the budget knife, we tried.

Why should you trust us

I have a rich cuisine, spanning nearly 18 years. I’ve cooked in the kitchen of brewpubs, small cafes and fine dining restaurants. I also did a number of cases in which gave me the chance to work behind the scenes at the party really cool as gala 60th birthday of Elton John. I’ve sliced and diced thousands of pounds of onions, carrots, celery. I also spent 6 years in a test kitchen developing recipes for food stories appeared in magazines including Martha Stewart Living and Everyday Food and contribute to cookbook Martha Stewart’s cooking school, dinner at home, Everyday food: fresh Flavor fast and Martha Stewart’s entertainment .

For this tutorial, I consult Brendan McDermott, chef’s knife skills instruction in Kendall College in Chicago; Murray Carter, a knife technology has completed more than 19,000 knives and calls himself a “17th generation Bladesmith Yoshimoto;” Nourieli Howard, owner of the Bowery Kitchen Supplies in New York City; and Wendy Yang, Showroom Manager at Korin, a Japanese knife store in New York City. I read Chad Ward An Edge in the Kitchen cover to cover and looked into reputable sources including the American editor Test Kitchen, Good Housekeeping, Consumer Reports, and cook for engineers. Since this is an update, I also studied and writer originally Sweethome our associate editor Michael Zhao to consider.

Should I upgrade?

If you are using a blunt knife to the kitchen my hand, or the subpar your knife is not cutting it anymore, it might be time to upgrade. Similarly, if the knife’s nice once you’ve used and abused and never sharpened, sharpened or improperly, and you can see it does not seem to keep his advantage ( even after grinding), it is time for a new one. And if you’ve only ever use a stainless steel knife, you might want to have a model like the main runner and pick-made by our high carbon steel will stay sharper.

Generally, you will find chef knife in two styles:

  • Germany: Chef’s Knife most widely recognized in the West, this has a markedly curved blade that tapers to a sharp point. Most have a push-a thick metal cuff-between blade and handle. Some have full pillow expanded all the way to the edge and some pillow part without. These knives usually heavier and thicker blade compared with their Japanese counterparts, making them great for hard work as lobsters and chest break separating birds. Their tongues have an even taper and are usually made of softer steel, so they tend to take a faster edge.
  • Western-style Japanese: Also known as a Gyuto. The tongue has less of a curve and tapering to a very sharp tip. Compared to a German knife, the blade is thinner and it never got enough support, help to sharpen knives. Because they are thinner and are made from carbon steel with higher quality hardware, they lose a lot more acute bevel angle, so they tend to be sharper than knives Germany. Unlike classic Japanese knives, which are only sharpened on one side, with an even taper gyutos. Because they are made of high carbon steel, they tend to be little more than a knife stainless Germany.

Related: Best Buying Guide For Couples

How we choose & test of Chef’s Knife

A chef’s knife can solve 80-90 percent cut tasks, such as breaking the vegetables, cut the grass and lettuce seeds, and cut onions and scallions. It will handle simple cuts of meat, like beef Cubing for stew or chicken cut into strips for a stir fry. (It is not, however, the best knife to break down a chicken because you will want a Boning knife for that.)

To achieve all this, the knife was sharp. It will be able to cut through the paper straight out of the box. As long as you hone the blade and attentive maintenance, it should remain sharp through moderate use in 6-12 months before you need to sharpen it. (For more about the difference between honing and sharpening, see Care and maintenance.) Dull knives are not only frustrating to use, dangerous. People are trying to make up for a dull blade by applying more pressure, which can cause the knife to slip off the food and nick a hand (or worse).

“An 8-inch kitchen knife is a happy environment and perfect for almost anyone.”

Chef’s knife blade range from 6-12 inches long, but for most people around the 8 inch length is perfect. Brendon McDermott, chef skills instruction at Kendall College knife, saying, “I tend to always tell people to go smaller bigger, but I think an 8-inch kitchen knife is a lip happy and perfect case for almost anyone. ”
The best knives have handles fit comfortably in the hand. This depends on the size and shape of your hand and how you hold your knife. Once you feel the size and shape of the handle, seeking clearance knuckles. Nothing is quite annoying as beating your knuckles on the table while chopping.

When holding a chef's knife, there should be enough clearance between the handle and the cutting board so your knuckles don’t hit the board.
When holding a chef’s knife, there should be enough clearance between the handle and the cutting board so your knuckles don’t hit the board.

Knife balance means different things to different people. The blade and handle, and sometimes a push (a metal cuff on the bottom of the tongue) all contribute to weight distribution of a knife. Some people prefer a heavy blade knife, while others think the blade and the handle should have the same weight. Half consolidation or bolsterless knife blade will be more severe, while total consolidated throwing more weight in the handle.

Hugging is not for everyone. The metal cuffs can help balance heavy knife with a blade like Wusthof Ikon-where you want more weight in the process. A full consolidation extends to the heel of the blade, while half do not strengthen. For mild as gyutos knife, a boost is not necessary. Chad Ward said, “I happen to like my knife blade heavy, so a knife support that change too much weight behind my fingers felt awkward and out of control. That is all a matter of feelings and preferences. “full hugging pillows, special, maybe even makes grinding more difficult, because eventually you will need to grind down pillow to sharpen the blade.

There is debate about the importance of a knife tang-a piece of metal extending from the blade to the handle. Some cooking supply store salesperson can tell you that a tang extends through the entire treatment helps balance the knife, making it stronger. Brendan McDermott agrees: “There is a full tang blade actually helps balance the handle and the blade should be able to stay an even balance, but it also again shows that it is a piece of steel.” Chad Ward, on the other hand, argued that a full tang is not necessary (in his book, he said that even katana did not have a full tang). Korin said Wendy Yang’s knife in traditional Japanese with a stick can Funeral sent back to the factory in Japan to be repaired if the handle is damaged or broken (not a choice a full tang knife). All Japanese Western-style knives, we look with full Tangs riveted handles. Personally I think the reason for this is that Western consumers use that as a benchmark of quality, because that is what they have been sold for many years with German knives.

Chef’s knives come in a number of shapes and styles. From left to right: stamped Tojiro DP Gyuto with half bolster; drop-forged Wüsthof Ikon with half bolster; drop-forged Wüsthof Classic with full bolster; and stamped Wüsthof Pro with extended plastic handle
Chef’s knives come in a number of shapes and styles. From left to right: stamped Tojiro DP Gyuto with half bolster; drop-forged Wüsthof Ikon with half bolster; drop-forged Wüsthof Classic with full bolster; and stamped Wüsthof Pro with extended plastic handle

Blades are either forged or stamped, and both methods can produce high quality or low ranges. Train, the oldest methods, using heat and pressure to form the blade. Boutique knife manufacturers, as Murray Carter, still beating out the shape of the blade with a hammer, but most Western markets knives series is drop forged forged. In this process, a manufacturer of steel with a vacuum and heat it to a temperature extremely higher than with hand forged and use a hammer to pound it into a high-pressure form of a tongue knife. “Drop forgery has become a term related to a higher quality product for the advancement of technology in the process,” Carter explained. But he argued it was a step backwards because extreme heat metallurgically related to integrity flowering monuments that are important to the edge hold-that provides hands wrought.

Stamped blades, as the name suggests, is stamped on a large sheet of metal before more subtle and sharp. The quality of the very different knives, from thin knife found at the grocery store to choose our top runner. Knife manufacturers such as MAC and calorific value Tojiro his tongue to make them as strong as forged steel. In an Edge in the Kitchen, Chad P. said, “There are a great number of steel here, better than anything previously used for kitchen knives. It can be forged or drop it can be laser cut out of sheets. with suitable heat treatment, the method of forming the tongue has more to do with the production process and style knife than anything else. “He called the tongue sealed heat treated “outsourcing” to distinguish them from conventional stamped knives. Cook also pointed out Illustrated this device in consideration of their chefs knives.

When buying a knife, it is possible to detect examine the spine and edge defects. Hold the handle with the opposite edge and look down along the spine to make sure the blade is perfectly straight.

Check a chef's knife spine to make sure the blade is straight
Check a chef’s knife spine to make sure the blade is straight

Next, turn the knife over and check edge. If you see any light reflected back at you, it is a mill roll side, which you can grind out with clearness, but you do not need a knife to sharpen brand new. Do not hesitate to ask for multiple versions of the same knife to decide on one particular you want to take home. At Korin, they often make the same 2-3 of knife, so you can review and choose the one you prefer.

Check the chef's knife blade for roll spots, which make the knife duller
Check the chef’s knife blade for roll spots, which make the knife duller

You can get a decent kitchen knife for $40 or a really special for $400. Experts agree that I have interviewed a home chefs do not have to spend more than $150 on a chef’s knife. It all depends on the quality you need or want.

We can not examine all the candidates can fit our criteria, so we focus on, ranging widely available. We also do not include a Santoku knife Japan in this review, because it is better suited for vegetables and not as flexible as the standard chef’s knife. Finally, we carry 13 knives which all have an 8-inch blade, clocked in at $150 or less, not fully consolidated, standing recommendations by experts and trusted editorial source and excellently rated Amazon.

We peel and break a butternut squash to test their ability to maneuver and cut through notoriously difficult election how smoothly. We adjust the blades sharp by dicing onions, cut classic French with carrots, chopped green onions and cut vegetables. We checked whether the knife can handle the delicate task by cutting the basil leaves into a fine chiffonade and see the edge of the herb bruised and turn black.

Our selection

MAC MTH-80 8-inch Chef’s Knife
MAC MTH-80 8-inch Chef’s Knife

The MAC-MTH 80 ($145) is a knife with our favorite crazy because it will stay sharp and so longer than most other knives. That is the only knife that is comfortable for all the tests to hold and use. We found it best weight and balance; it feels more agile models in Germany and more durable than other types of Japanese knives. The dimples on the tongue also makes stickage eat slightly less. MTH-80 MAC knife is only in our prototype safely can recommend for most people are not placed.

Out of the box, cut straight through paper MAC, which is something our previous pick, Victorinox fibrox 8-inch chef knife, unmanageable. It also made cuts right through the center of the thick butternut squash, which, again, can not do Victorinox. Even the Pro Henckel, a drop-forged knife pricy Germany, is a rugged mower. The Rada, which is fragile dangerous, completely failed to cut the pumpkin soup.

The MAC MTH-80 was one of the few knives to cut straight through the center of a butternut squash
The MAC MTH-80 was one of the few knives to cut straight through the center of a butternut squash

With carrot fiber, MAC always makes clean cuts, unlike Victorinox, which cuts a portion of the road, then cracked the rest of the carrot as an ax splitting wood. The cutting edges of basil in the mostly green with little oxidation, which means razor sharp edge of the MAC broke very few of the cells of the herbs. All budget knives basil turned black within 5 minutes. Frankly, all Japanese knives have done a great job with basil trials, because they sharper and thinner. The drop-forged knives Germany falls somewhere in the middle, only causing a moderate amount of bruising and oxidation with basil.

Because the MAC blade seal made of very hard steel Rockwell hardness of 59-61, it will continue its sharp edges blades longer than softer, such as those of Wusthof Pro, both knives Messermeister, and Henckels, which are hardened to 56 HRC. At the same time, the MAC blade is made of steel that is not proprietary super-hard, brittle as Japan VG-10 steel used for most of the Gyuto knife. This means it is less likely to chip, which Tojiro made hard after cutting pumpkins. And because the MAC is slightly thinner blade than German blades, measuring 0.0976 inches at the thickest part of the spine, it will be easier to maintain a sharp edge of it when you get toward the spine. Meanwhile, measuring 0.1187 inch Wusthof Ikon.

Check our year, everyone agrees that the MAC was really comfortable to hold and use. Personally, I like the shapes simpler and smaller size of the handle, allowing for a gentle grip reduces fatigue in work tighter. Even those with larger hands, like my other important, find the handle for more clearance knuckles. By comparison, Tojiro DP did not provide enough information knuckle larger hands and Global G-2, which has a stainless steel handle thon, is offputting for some tests. MAC processor is a bit short, but the length of the curve from the knee down to small heel has full room for handling large knuckles.The of Shun Classic, on the other hand, has a very long and unwieldy that it keeps jabbing into my arms.

Our test spectrum also like the weight of the MAC. At 6.6 ounces, it’s lighter than a drop-forged knife Germany, but feel heavier and sturdier than many Japanese knives. Part of that, again, is due to the thickness of the spine. At its thickest part comes in at 0.0754 inch Togiharu, the DP Tojiro at 0.0817 inches, and Global G-2 .0754 inch. 0.0976 inch thick relatively MAC spine for some utility knife, and it does not feel as refined as cutting through hard vegetables such as pumpkin soup, but it still has a feeling of a smooth-edged cut excavation.

MAC is the only knife we’ve tested with dimples on both sides of the tongue to reduce food sticking to the knife. We do not think this is the biggest selling point of the MAC, as it was only mildly effective, but it came in handy when cutting pumpkin soup. Slices stuck to the blades of each knife we tested, but remove them from the MAC is much easier. By comparison, slices tongue suctioned to Meridian Elite Messermeister and it takes some muscle to remove them, which made me feel uncomfortable to be cutting myself.

The MAC MTH-80 is our last step up, and although it’s expensive knives at the end we tested, we think the combination of performance and high-quality construction will give you many years use, much happier than a budget knife. In that respect, $145 is a bargain. It has a conical shape almost triangular, half consolidated, full tang, and a handle attached. I was so impressed by it that I took it to a work style dining weeks after testing, where I had complete cut of the herbs and vegetables. I will be glad to have this knife in my sets for each shot.

Cooking For Engineers evaluated MAC their first choice after full examination of the chef’s knife. Chad P. called MTH-80 in An Edge in the Kitchen “… a treat to use,” adding, “They are very popular among chefs and cooking lines because they are comfortable, prices affordable, high-quality knife comes with an aggressive edge and keep it in a very long time. “Amazon has also been glowing reviews of MTH-80, where it received an average of 4.7 stars from 76 reviews.

Errors but not dealbreakers

We understand the value of the MAC can offputting for some. But because it is made from quality materials, we think it can last a lifetime with proper maintenance. Check our care and maintenance section for tips on keeping your knife in fighting form.

If you are used to cut with a knife Germany, you will need to change your style cut with MAC, adapted to a push and pull cutting motions. It takes a little getting used. I have moved to Japan as a young knife, super blue line cook, fresh New York City kitchen. If I could change the way I work as a chef in frenzied thrower on my head, then anyone can.

MAC, like all Japanese knives, requires a bit more care because of the hardness of the blade also makes it more brittle. You will not want to leave the MAC in a sink, where edges can beat against the plate or glass, and never use it on hard surfaces such as glass or granite. If you need a knife that will take more than one hit, we’d suggest a drop-forged knife with a blade of German stainless steel, such as Wusthof Ikon.

There are some reviews on Amazon complained about stained tongue. I talked to a MAC customer representative services, who explained that the high carbon content of the knife means sometimes, especially when it is not cleaned and dried after cutting food corrosive acidic (such as citrus or tomatoes) you can see a rust spot. If you want a completely stainless knife can take a beating crazy, get a Wusthof. But a little attention to the care will keep your Mac clean and spot free.

Finally, you need to find a reputable paring knife for Japanese knives. Because they are much thinner and more brittle, those who work on them need to understand these differences and proceed accordingly. MAC is pretty forgiving because it has an even taper, so do not need to be sent to a knife sharpening service Japanese specialties.

Related: New Craftsman Nextec 12V Jig Saw


Runner-up

Chef's Knife - Tojiro DP Gyutou
Chef’s Knife – Tojiro DP Gyutou

It’s not quite as good as the MAC, but for ~ $60 Tojiro DP is a special knife. The thin, razor-sharp blades cut Japan’s perfect carrot and basil chiffonades clean with less bruising or oxidation. Onions cut is very smooth and the test would love to use this knife, praise sharp and easy handling. One of the tests we bought it as soon as she tried it. But there is some reason it did not win over the MAC.

The handling is too small for large hands. Although women in our test team found the handle comfortable, when I had a man with big hands holding the knife, he did not have enough information knuckle, which in turn secures an unpleasant task .

Tojiro steel core also appears to be more brittle than steel construction of the MAC uniform. After breaking a butternut squash, we found a small nick in the blade almost acts. As it turns out, the company’s web site recommends knife used to cut not pumpkin (or frozen foods), vegetables hard to chip because your tongue. MAC is likely to be made of higher quality steel, thus making it more solid.

The Tojiro Gyuto shaped like a classic, with a straight edge, no enhancement and a spearhead for precision cutting. It has a full tang, and the handle is secured with rivets. Like the MAC, it has a bit of heft to it, that makes it feel lighter more durable G-2 Global and Togiharu.

In An Edge in the Kitchen, Chad P. Tojiro DP cited as the “bargain of the century.” He went on to say, “The quality of the appropriate treatment can be changed, and handle themselves are blocky, but the performance of the knife is excellent, especially for the price.” It average received 4.6 stars in the Amazon 141 user reviews.

We will be testing its long-term, so in 6 months we will report on its durability.


For heavy duty

Chef's Knife - Wusthof Classic Ikon 8-Inch
Chef’s Knife – Wusthof Classic Ikon 8-Inch

We think that the MAC is a better, more agile knives, but if you really like the heavier weight and feel more substantial drop of a knife forged German, or if you do not want to change style cut your way to hold a knife from Japan, we recommend the Wusthof Ikon. It has a super sharp edges and tip, and, compared with other German knives, a thinner blade, a comfortable handle and blade curve more manageable, which gives users better leverage.

It makes clean cuts through butternut squash and diced onion quickly, although carrots broke slightly. Like other fake knives Germany drop, it causes moderate bruising to cut basil. Compared to the MAC, Ikon less agile and sharp. When breaking a butternut squash, MAC has been faster and more accurate at peeling away.

Compared with Ikon MAC tongue is quite thick, measuring 0.1187 inches in the spine. But it is not as thick as 0.1461 inches in Messermeister Elite or Pro Henckels Zwilling at 0.1298 inch. Ikon thin blade of the knife to make a little lighter than the knife, and that means it will be able to get a knife sharp edge thicker than the long term.

Many trials smooth, rounded handles of Ikon, that mold nicely into the palm. It’s much more comfortable than dealing with Messermeister Elite with its hard angles. gently curved blade of Ikon also makes it more comfortable to use. The Henckel Pro, by comparison, has a strongly curved blade that cut and cut very clumsy (edge also not very sharp). I feel like I have more control with Wusthof and food stuck to the blades less with Meridian Elite.

Another advantage of Ikon on MAC is stainless steel blade soft it will take more of a beating. If you drop a Wusthof into a sink or leave residue acidic food, it should not be stained or corroded. But that type of treatment will also destroy your side, so do not do it with your knife.

With an average rating of 4.9 stars on Amazon, the Ikon is also a favorite knife. Of the 137 customer reviews, 126 of them to give it five stars.


For those on a budget

Wusthof Pro Chef's Knife
Wusthof Pro Chef’s Knife

For a budget knife, we liked the Wusthof Pro Chef’s Knife  ($ 25). It was introduced 4 years ago for professional chefs in a restaurant kitchen and only offered to the general public. In the budget choice, our panel of testers liked best this knife. It has a rubber handle and blade seal smoothness that is by far the most powerful of the budget knife. It does not really compete with the Mac or other select our top. With this knife, you are sacrificing longevity. It’s a good model to start cooking, but eventually you may want to switch to a higher-quality knife.

The Pro chopped onion quickly (although not smooth like our other picks), thanks in part to its spearhead. It makes a clean cut through the carrots with a small cup. It is not good for peeling a butternut squash, but Victorinox is more cumbersome with its dull blade. Like all the budget knife, it turned the black basil chiffonade pretty quickly.

It comes with a smooth handle like rubber which is comfortable to hold, and like big hands. Personally, I prefer not to carry a lot; Its size obstructing pinch my bird. I found all of the budget knife handle so big and awkward. But most of our testing was not bothered by the Pro processor.

Not many Amazon reviews for this knife, but most of them were favorable; people seem to really want large handles. We will be the long term testing for 6 months Wusthof Pro and will report back. I would even take it to one of my stones after using excessive to see how it has a new addition.

How to use a chef’s knife

I tested all the classic knife with a handle pinch, the safest way to keep your chef’s knife you. I strongly urge you to train yourself to use the pinch grip. You’ll have more control over your knife and cut yourself the result is less. In addition, you will become faster as the job cuts.

Germany was bent blade and is designed for a tight seesaw motion. This is the tip of the knife mainly keep in touch with cutting boards and the heel is raised and lowered while the guiding hand under the tongue pushes food.

Because Japanese knives have straight edges, it is best to use a push-pull motion, lift the entire knife out of the board for each cut. If you decide to make a switch from German to Japanese knives, this will take some getting used to.

Care and Maintenance For Chef’s Knife

It’s easy to care for a knife, it takes only 2 minutes of attention and more. Simply hand wash blades, to dry completely, and put it away. Never put it in the dishwasher. It’s not good for the edges to bump up against other things, such as glass and ceramic-material stronger than steel. Do not use anything abrasive on the blade, such as a Brillo pad or coarse side of a Scotch Brite sponge, which can cause small scratches on metal.

Related: Dead Sea Mud Mask Reviews

Never throw knives unprotected in a drawer where they dull quickly. Wall-mounted magnetic strip, such as Mag-Blok Benchcrafted we recommended in guidelines set our small apartment, is better and safer. If you do not want to have a magnetic strip mounted on your wall, buy a blade protection. That way you can store it in a drawer or a knife roll and edge protection. You can use a knife block, but I personally do not like them because of their narrow slits can not be cleaned. I shudder to think about what development in a knife block in recent years.

Just use your knife on wood, plastic, or chopping board rubber. Do not, by any means, just to hit the glass edge, your granite or ceramic (not even a quick slice on a plate!). Murray Carter explained: “Anything that has any strength that approaches the metal, especially pottery that is 10 times harder than metal … as soon as it exposed the next, it dulls it. ”

Keep a sharp cutting edge longer than with a honing rod. This does not actually sharpen the blade its sole purpose is to rearrange the teeth on a blade of bent and knocked out of whack during use. Although steel is a classic choice for honing rods, sometimes softer materials your knife, making it useless. A ceramic rod is best because it is the most difficult stronger than steel, but grit is smooth so it will not chew up the edge of your knife while it realigns edges. Train it before each use, and you’ll be golden.

See a chef whipping stick a knife into their hands toward at lightning speed, it’s easy to see yourself taking a thumbs up. But it is not as difficult as it seems. There are two ways to cultivate an efficient way knives:

If you’re starting out, it’s safe to put the head on the chopping board honing rod, the rod perpendicular to the board. Start with your knife towards the handle and pull down from the heel to tip. Repeat on the other side and continue for four or five reps. The key to both styles of honing is to make sure the bevel edge is flush to the bar.

The way most pros do it is to point the tip of the rod up and pull the Chef Knife down towards and the handle
The way most pros do it is to point the tip of the rod up and pull the Chef Knife down towards and the handle

Best way to do that is to only upon the tip of his stick and Chef’s Knife down and pull the handle.

Finally your knife needs to be sharpened. Depending on your use, which could mean that every 6 months to a year. You’ll know it’s time when you have to work to get through the skins of tomatoes or cucumbers. If you’re going to get a professional to sharpen your knives, it is important that you find someone who really knows what they’re doing. Unfortunately, it’s really hard to find. My best suggestion is to ask a local chef’s knife where they will send their own personal (not a cheap kitchen knife they give to the chef prepare). Generally, the chef’s sharpen their own blades, but they often know of a reputable knife guy.

“If you learn how to sharpen your own knives, you will have the tools that is truly yours.”

If you learn how to sharpen your own knives, it will be one of the most rewarding things you’ll ever make. Carter Murray highly recommend it. He said: “It’s a psychological perspective. Who in Western society ever thought about your own knife sharpener? … Once they have a new sharpening skills, it empowers them to master they own cutlery. “If you learn how to sharpen your own knives, you will have the tools that is truly yours.

It’s a scary job at first, but once you get the hang of it, you will be putting a new edge on each knife old, crappy in your arsenal. Personally I prefer to use Japanese rock. I have a 1000 and 3000 grit grit that I use regularly. I also have a hand-me-down stone from my grandfather that is a super fine grit 6000 for the most accurate work. I especially like the video from Korin Murray Carter and that shows you how to use the stones.

In a previous version of this guide, we have warned against the sharpening, but after doing research on grinding and tried many such devices themselves, we have discovered that not all knife sharpeners are created equal. If you are investing in a quality, expensive knives as our main choice, we still believe that a whetstone used properly will provide the best sharpness, smooth edges. But if you want to sharpen our budget pick, a German steel blade or a blade stamping inexpensive, go ahead and try one of our pick knife sharpener. In our tests, we found that those who were designed to work nicely, causing minimal wear to knives while creating a better edge. Their convenience and encourage people to use them often, which makes cutting safer and a happier experience kitchen. However, be sure to avoid the cheapest knife sharpeners that will quickly eat away too much of the blade metal.

What to expect

We wanted to test the VG-10 3-layer Zhen Chef Knife ($55), but they were discontinued and current models will not have new models until the fall. The knife comes with a great price and with a small cult following on the forums. The reviews on this are mixed, but we want to see for ourselves. We will update this guide as we test new models.

Steel blade of Chef’s Knife

Steel hardness is measured on the scale Rockwell C. Used in more than 100 years, this method compares the force required to indent various hardened steel. Steel, at its most basic, mainly iron with carbon added. High carbon steel knives should Decent registered anywhere between 55 HRC and 64 HRC (German Wusthof knives and other general register 56 HRC and 64 HRC steel in Murray Carter). The higher you go, the more expensive the knife. The standard for “very hard steel” is 60 HRC, according to Wendy Yang at Korin Japanese Trading in New York City.

Knife manufacturers more modern elements to steel to increase resistance marks, processing performance, and rigidity; improve grain structure; and increased shock resistance. Some suggest that these additives contribute to a stronger knife. Murray Carter said it was not necessary ingredients to mask poor steel that is full of pollutants, namely sulfur and phosphorus. All steel with the contaminants, that is the extent to which they are present that make all the difference.

In An Edge in the Kitchen, Chad P. explains the composition of Germany’s most X50CrMoV15 knife, which roughly translates to 80 percent iron, 0.5 percent carbon and 15 percent a combination of chromium , molybdenum, and vanadium. Chromium protects from corrosion and is what makes stainless knife, molybdenum and vanadium while increasing processing capacity, wear resistance, and fine-tune the particles. Stainless steel is often hard to 56 HRC, which is softer Japanese knives but have lost a good beating and can stand up to a certain level of abuse.

Japanese steel usually have higher carbon content and, in addition to the components in the German steel, tungsten and cobalt contained, which improves stiffness. VG-10, by Hitachi Corporation, is the most common alloys and are what people think of when they think of Japanese steel. It makes the hard-edged grab and hold an edge well, but also quite brittle. This is why many gyutos plated stainless steel lighter to protect against shock and staining. The softer steel makes grinding easier, because there is less hard steel to grind away There are lots of other proprietary alloys that come out of Japan, some lighter, some more difficult; we just use the VG-10 as an example.

You will see a knife made of American steel, and while some of it is good to have a few recipes knife without performing well. In An Edge in the Kitchen, Chad P. said, “I will not make garbage lid off 420J or 440A, but some manufacturers may use them for kitchen knives.” These types of low carbon steel and high corrosion resistance. They stay beautiful, but do not hold many advantages.

Quality seals and knives drop forged passes through a heat treatment process. The heat treatment is the process of getting the desired hardness steel. This includes, but not limited to, annealing, quenching and tempering. In summary, composting reduces tension steel inside and to prepare for the formation and crystal beads. Quenching and tempering steel hardware reduces some stiffness to make it less brittle.

RelatedWhat Happens To Your Body When You Wear Heels (feet)

Competition of Chef’s Knife

Global G-2 Gyuto Chef’s Knife ($98) was an honorable dismissal. It was a good candidate, and it would have been one of the top choices of us, but some people can not get on board with the handle, made of hollow steel dimpled. Editors Our kitchen Clisset Christine Cyr and I love it for its light weight and razor sharp edges. Since it was so close, long-term we will examine it and give the 6-month notes. G-2 comes appreciated by cooking for engineers.

Molybdenum Togiharu Gyuto Chef’s Knife ($100) is a classic lightweight Gyuto. Again an honorable dismissal, this knife is sharp and precise. Like Tojiro, it lacks clearance submission for big hands, which I have used this knife professionally for 7 years, and other than the need to be sharpened a little more often than other knives, it is customary home. It is thin, so I thought it would be too sensitive for the hard vegetables. Chad Ward praised Edge knife in the kitchen.

Victorinox fibrox 8-inch chef’s knife ($45) was previously selected our favorite and knife America Test Kitchen. Stamped knives is getting lots of love from many people. It has a state-shaped plastic handle that most people prefer. I used to give this knife for new friends who cook like a great boot knife. Sadly, it did not stand up to the competition. That is the only knife that does not cut the paper straight out of the box. Also it split carrots and pumpkin soup can not cut straight, and the inspector did not like handling multiple. It is fair to mention that we are not sure if there are changes to the Victorinox quality or if they could have moved to the plant. Since this is the first choice of our past, we decided to test a new brand Victorinox second with fibrox handle to make sure that we did not get a lemon. The result is both at once. Compared to Wusthof Pro, choose our budget, Victorinox is not a sharp edge or head. Our test also did not like the feel of the handle, said structural plastic is offputting. They enjoyed the soft hand of Wusthof Pro.

Messermeister Meridian Elite Chef’s Knife ($99.95) has suggested in Chad Ward An Edge in the Kitchen. The drop-forged blade is strong enough, but it is not smooth like MAC or Ikon. It is heavier than the Ikon, and tests were clumsy thought to hold.

Messermeister Four Seasons Chef’s Knife ($37) is a budget choice and pretty much sealed flush with Wusthof Pro, but is almost twice the price. Our testing found the handle uncomfortable due to the sharp edges of the spine that continues to deepen in our index finger.

Henckels Zwilling Pro Chef’s Knife ($103) drop-forged knives is just embarrassing. The curve of the blade is too heavy and difficult to cut. It’s hard to maintain the control of the knife.

Shun DM0706 Classic Chef’s Knife ($129) is trivial. The long handle bar keeps jabbing into my wrist and full cutting edge. It felt like a German heavy knife with a Japanese name. Meanwhile, Amazon has a lot of favorable reviews, like all kinds of knives in our test sample, the negative reviews complained of chipping blades. That did not happen with us, though.

Mercer Millenia Chef’s Knife ($18) is not very strong; blade seal cup carrots and uncomfortable to use. Do not have a lot of opinions on Amazon, but they are convenient.

Rada Cutlery French Chef’s Knife ($13) is a cheap way of humor. Stamped from stainless steel scrap in the US, this knife is fragile and can not make a straight cut butternut squash or carrots. Like other budget knife, it turned green basil leaves into strips of black liner. It has a favorable price Amazon, but I can not understand why.

It was nearly impossible to cut through the center of a butternut squash with the Rada French Knife
It was nearly impossible to cut through the center of a butternut squash with the Rada French Knife

Other knives that we looked into but rejected:

Wusthof Classic 8-Inch Chef’s Knife ($ 120) has a loyal customer base, and it was the first knife I bought as a restaurant cook budding at the age of 19. It has full consolidation but make sure maintenance and grinding hard.

Zwilling JA Henckels Twin Pro Chef’s Knife ($100) are fully enhanced, a dealbreaker. Also, I have never had great experiences with this brand. Their tongue seems always sharp travel less and dull rather quickly.

Culinary Renaissance Mercer 8″ Chef’s Knife ($45) is a drop-forged knife cheap. They used to be made in Germany, but now all of them are manufactured in Taiwan. With the option of drop forged better out there, we have found you really do get what you pay for in this case.

French Chef Knives Chef Mac’s Field Knife, 8-Inch ($90) and MAC’s Chef Series Chef’s Knife Hollow Edge ($95) is less expensive services from the MAC. It seems repetitive to bring in. Since MTH-80 has such glowing reviews and is made of high quality steel, we have made an executive decision to check only one that. We will consider this test for updates to this update.

Wusthof Gourmet Knife 8-Inch Cook ($70) and the Wusthof Grand Prix II 8-Inch Chef’s Knife ($100) is the other Wusthof show that we reject. Unlike the Classic, they do not have full pillow, but Gourmet is a cheap knife is made and Ikon Classic Grand Prix II defeat in positive Amazon reviews.

Henckels International Classic 8-Inch ($50) is similar to Wusthof Classic that we have not tested because the design simply outdated full support of it, that can not be sharpened properly.

Misono UX10 Gyuto ($176), Suisin Inox ($112), and other Japanese gyutos a uniform bevel it is difficult for the average person to maintain.

8-Inch Chef Miyabi Kaizen’s Knife ($ 136) is just outside the points cut our price and it looks like Shun, except for $35 more. The Ball uncomfortable to use for long periods of time

Pack it up

To prepare daily meals, we recommend MAC MTH-80 chef’s knife. This is one of the sharpest knife and get comfortable using ordinary least, we have found, and it will last a lifetime with proper maintenance and care.

Photos by Amadou Diallo.

#Besthomeshoppingreviews


Related article

The Best Pressure Cooker

The Best Slow Cooker

Review: Vitamix blender (Version 5200)